Welcome to Canoe Sprint

Latest Sprint News

Canoe Sprint

Canoe Sprint is one of the best-known competitive canoeing disciplines in Australia. This is probably due to its inclusion in the Olympic Games since 1936 and Australia’s involvement in All Olympics from the 1956 Melbourne Olympic Games.  Canoe Sprint is all about speed on flat water over distances of 200 metres, 500 metres and 1000 metres.  The craft that have developed are sleek and fast but unstable.

Canoe Sprint kayakers use specially designed allowing paddles for extra power and efficiency.  K1, K2 and K4 are the most popular classes of Canoe Sprint kayaking but there are also canoe classes, C1, C2 and C4.  Both men and women compete in kayaks, but only men compete in canoes.

In Canoe Sprint, events are contested over three distances 200 metres, 500 metres and 1000 metres.  Canoe Sprint at the Olympic Games is contested over 500 metres and 1000 metres only.  However, not every event is contested over both distances.  The canoe and kayak events raced at the Olympic Games are Men’s K1, K2, K4 and C1 and C2 over 1000 metres.  Over 500 metres the events are Men’s K1, K2, C1, C2 and Women’s K1, K2 and K4.

At the annual World Championships and Australian Championships, unlike at the Olympic Games, events are contested also over 200 metres. Men’s and Women’s K1, K2 and K4 are raced over all three distances. The Men’s C1, C2 and C4 events are all run over 200 metres, 500 metres and 1000 metres.

Queensland Canoe Sprint

Sprint Committee

Chair Matt Ingerman
Committee Member Cath Parker
Committee Member Alicen Warriner
PQ Delegate Elisabet Gudmundsdottir

Congratulations to the following athletes who have been selected to the 2018 Canoe Sprint State Team.

The State Team will compete in the 2018 Canoe Sprint National Championships. which will be held on 4 – 5 March  at Sydney International Regatta Centre, Penrith, NSW.

The selection criteria used to determine the State Squad and Team can be found here.

Lachlan Bancroft Sunshine Coast Paddlesports Club
Morgan Brodhurst-Hill Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club
Carter Brodhurst-Hill Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club
Shannay Butler Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club
Jarrad Campbell Kawana Waters Canoe Club
Alexander Clarey Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club
Daniel Hardwick Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club
Sarah Hardwick Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club
Mia Jeffries Sunshine Coast Paddlesports Club
Hannah Lund Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club
Ava Lund Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club
Benjamin Manning Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club
Jenaya Massie Kawana Waters Canoe Club
Kurt McAleenan Kawana Waters Canoe Club
Chaise Richardson Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club
Anthea Warne Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club
Liam Warriner Brisbane Canoeing
Phoebe Wills-Grace Kawana Waters Canoe Club

Discipline Club

WRCC logo 150

Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club