Winners were announced at the 2017 Paddle Queensland Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday 26 August 2017.  A huge night was had by all!

The PQ Annual Awards recognise individuals and clubs that have made a significant contribution to the development of paddling in Queensland.

Congratulations to all the Finalists  and Winners! Paddle Queensland also announced our new Life Members, Ross Cook and Chris Hurley.

Award Category Winner  Nominees
Canoeist Of The Year

Susan Seipel (Brisbane Canoeing)

Alyce Burnett and Alyssa Bull (Sunshine Coast Paddlesports Club)
Curtis McGrath (Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club)
Susan Seipel (Brisbane Canoeing)
Junior Canoeist Of The Year


Anthea Warne (Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club)

Erin Blanch (Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club)
Mackenzie Duffy (Kawana Waters Canoe Club)
Daniel Mole (Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club)
Jack Steel (Brothers Canoe Club)
Anthea Warne (Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club)
Volunteer Of The Year


Grant Epple
(Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club)

Grant Epple (Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club)
Brenda Hurley (Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club)
Dave Peters (Brothers Canoe Club)
Alison Whitehead (North West Canoe Club)
Coach Of The Year


Andrea King
(Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club)

Andrea King (Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club)
Sharon Kyme (Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club)
Matthew Ingerman (Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club)
Julian Norton-Smith (Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club)
Club Of The Year – Southern Qld


Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club

Brothers Canoe Club
Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club
Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club
Event Of The Year

Gregory River Canoe Marathon
(North West Canoe Club)

Alley Dash (Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club)
Gregory River Canoe Marathon (North West Canoe Club)
Photo Of The Year

‘Dawn Paradise’ by Matthew Mason

Natural beauty of the Gregory River (by Amanda Rankin)
Dawn Paradise (by Matthew Mason )
Off shore, Currumbin Beach (by John Prince )
Currumbin Creek juniors (by Suzanne Maclachlan)
Reflections (by Steve Belcher )
Master Canoeist
Of The Year


Peter Winton (Varsity Lakes Paddlers Club)

Of The Year


Allana Bold

Qld Canoeing also welcomed our new Life Members

Ross Cook  Chris Hurley

A big thanks also to our awards sponsors providing gifts for our award winners !

  • Colmslie Hotel
  • Currumbin RSL Club
  • Natureline Australia.

A special thanks also to our guest speaker, adventurer Steve Posselt ‘Paddling to Paris’ (via a flooded Mississippi).