Qld Annual Awards Dinner

Queensland Canoeing Annual Awards Dinner

The 2006 Queensland Canoeing Awards Dinner was held on Saturday night the 19th August at the Yeronga Services Club. The awards are to recognise achievements and contributions of Qld Canoeing members and Qld Canoeing affiliates, the Annual Awards provides recognition for those who have made a significant contribution to the sport.

The Winners of the Award Categories are:

Canoeist of the Year – Lani Belcher (Indooroopilly Canoe Club)

Junior Canoeist of the Year – Bernadette Wallace (Currumbin Creek Canoe Club)

Masters Canoeist of the Year – John Newton (Currumbin Creek Canoe Club)

Coach of the Year – Erin O’Keeffe (Lourdes Hill College Canoe Club)

Volunteer of the Year – Jerry Dunn (Newport Waters Canoe Club)

Queensland Canoeing would like to thank EVERYONE who nominated, was nominated and attended the awards dinner and supported a fellow paddler and our wonderful sport.

We would also like to thank our sponsors for making the evening much more valuable by sponsoring an award and providing amazing prizes for the evening. The following people were lucky to take home the

Colin Bartlem (Fitzroy Canoe Club) and Norm Oldham (Sandgate Canoe Club) took home 2 Nights Accomodation from Best Western Australia

Tony Bowman (Townsville Canoe Club) took home a brand new Mountain Bike from Anaconda Adventure Stores

Rod Stanley and Bev Hartl (Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club) took home dinner for two from Yeronga Services Club

Paul Gardner (Indooroopilly Canoe Club) took home a Pre Paid Mobile Phone Package from Mobile Phone Supastore

          Western Suburbs Awards & Trophies